Along with more space than can be filled by furniture in our former 800 sq ft apartment, I’ve inherited a pretty amazing garden at the new house. Now, if you know me, this basically means nothing. I tend to kill plants at an alarming rate, without even trying. But the former owners so kindly put in an auto-sprinkler system so it’s almost Sarah-proof!  I’ve started researching what to do with all the fun new veggies and herbs I now have.

Things I can kinda master:

  • making kick ass sweet tea with mint 
  • drying rosemary (if you need some, let me know… we have a tree’s worth) 
  • steaming green beans

I’m still working on the cilantro, but today’s triumph was making my own pesto with garden basil! 

Image

 

2 cups of packed basil
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
1/2 cup olive oil, give or take  
salt and pepper to taste 
*note: I skipped the pine nuts

In a food processor, thoroughly blend the basil leaves until they’re in very small pieces. Pulse in the parmesan cheese and minced garlic. Slowly add olive oil into the food processor in a constant stream and blend until smooth. Add a pinch of salt and a little bit of pepper, stir it all up, and enjoy. This makes about 1 cup (and I decimated my garden supply). 

Image

Image

